Word of Mouth

By: Taylor Dinardo

My mom often tells me of the things my brother says about me when I’m not around.

She tells me he thinks I’m brilliant and powerful.

He says I have wonderful things inside of me and that I radiate like a nuclear power plant.

He speaks of me like I am his favorite person.

When he sits across the table from me, however, he says nothing.

I return the silence to him, but I tell my mother that he is my best friend.

He holds the world between his pointer finger and thumb, sends it spinning on its axis.

He makes trees grow wherever he walks, leaving everyone breathing a little bit easier.

I tell her that he is my favorite person.

I hope that she tells him I say so.



A version of this post originally appeared in
“Clarity”
The Teller May 2019 Issue 6

Most Recent Posts

  • Creative Graduation Gifts for the Ones you Love

    May 1, 2020 by

    By Marissa Ammon Let’s face it, seniors who are graduating high school or college in 2020 are going to need some encouragement to get through this difficult time during their last year of school. The best way to show how much we appreciate them is to give them a present that they will treasure forever.  … Read more

  • Feminist and Proud

    May 1, 2020 by

    By Sarah Cunningham I don’t enjoy sharing my opinion with others. Actually as a rephrase, I used to enjoy sharing my opinions with others. Anyone can agree that having a conversation with those who have extreme mentalities and are eager to argue is unbearable. It definitely seems that I’ve had way too many of those.… Read more

  • Fast-Tracking Your Way to Resilience

    May 1, 2020 by

    By Pamela Loperena Resilience is the psychological backbone of the human mind. It serves as a source of strength for people to rely on after enduring trauma, misfortune or disaster. Resilience helps individuals adjust to negative life situations with greater ease, allowing them to remain calm, even when all odds are against them. Without the… Read more

View all posts

Leave a comment